Learn the Answers to Frequently Asked Questions
Our Jupiter, FL workers’ compensation attorney responds to your questions
Almost 30 years ago when our founding attorney at Pfeffer & Associates began practicing law, workers’ compensation provided insufficient assistance to workers injured on the job. In October 2003, even greater restrictions were placed on the rights to benefits to cover medical bills, wages and disabilities after a workplace injury or illness.
Our workers’ comp lawyer answers your questions about your rights to compensation under Florida’s employment laws. After reading our responses to frequently asked questions about workers’ compensation, we urge you to contact our firm to schedule a free consultation, so we can assess your claim and advise you on your rights.
- Is there a deadline for reporting a workplace accident to my employer?
- When should I report the diagnosis of a chronic illness or repetitive stress injury?
- Can I choose my own doctor for treatment?
- Can my employer decide not to submit my claim to the insurance company?
- Can my employer fire me for filing a workers’ compensation claim?
- Can my workers’ compensation claim be denied if I did not abide by the company’s safety requirements?
- Is there a statute of limitations for filing a petition for benefits?
- Should I accept a settlement for my claim?
- What types of benefits are provided under the workers’ compensation system?
Get the answers you need about recovering for your workplace accident in Florida
To get the answers about your specific workers’ compensation situation, call Pfeffer & Associates at 561-745-8011 or contact us online to schedule your free initial consultation. We can represent you on a contingency fee basis, and Spanish translators are available.
You have 30 days to report a workplace accident to your employer, but you should do so as soon as you can. Failing to meet this deadline may result in the denial of your claim.
Report your diagnosis of a work-related chronic illness or repetitive stress injury as soon as you are diagnosed.
No, your employer should provide you with the name of doctors who are permitted to handle your workers’ compensation treatment.
No, your employer is required to submit the claim no later than seven days from the date you report your injury or illness. If your employer refuses to submit your claim to its insurance company, you have the right to report the claim yourself.
Florida law forbids employers from retaliating against workers who file or attempt to file a workers’ compensation claim.
You may still receive compensation, but possibly at a reduced amount if you ignored your employer’s demand that you use safety equipment or comply with safety rules.
Generally, you have up to two years to file a petition for benefits.
Settlements are voluntary and, in some circumstances, may be to your advantage. However, often a settlement is not beneficial to you. Once you settle, you cannot recover additional money and you are responsible for all of your future medical bills. We strongly urge you to seek legal counsel before agreeing to accept a settlement.
You may be eligible for wage replacement and reasonable medical care. The amount you receive and the length of eligibility depends on individual factors.